AIGUEBELLE-GOLDFIELDS

Quebec, Canada

REGIONAL GEOLOGY

he region is located within the Abitibi geological sub-province. These rocks are mainly Archean and slightly metamorphosed. They were divided into three groups of volcanic origin and two groups of sedimentary origin.
view map

<read more>
The Kinojévis group volcanic rocks are mainly composed of ferriferous and magnesian tholeiites, komatiites and rhyolitic horizons. As for those of the Blake River group, they are characterized by basic andesites intercalated with pyroclastic rocks topped by more felsic rocks with a transitional to calc-alkaline affinity. These rocks are host to many massive sulphide deposits in the Rouyn-Noranda region. The Hébécourt Formation is composed of ferriferous and magnesian tholeiites extending from the Ontario border up to the Bousquet-Laronde mining camp.

Kewagama sedimentary rocks, younger than the volcanics consist of turbidites deposited in basins adjacent to both volcanic edifices. As for Témiscaming rocks, they are younger and are composed of coarse polygenetic sediments deposited in alluvial and fluvial environments.

Several intrusions cut across these rocks. In the vicinity of fault zones, there are a multitude of dykes of different compositions (syenite, tonalite, albitite, lamprophyre). One of these intrusions, composed of syenite and pyroxenite ultrapotassic units, is located south of the property (Cléricy syenite).

The volcano-sedimentary units are separated by long deformation zones such as the Porcupine-Destor, Aiguebelle, Parfouru, Manneville, Manneville North and South faults. These large structures cut across the region on EW to ESE directions. In the property sector, the fault zone results from a triangular collision zone overlapping with different attitudes and directions. Many gold deposits are associated with this structure zone, particularly west of the region and the Ontario side.

As for the Cadillac-Larder Lake Fault, it is located further south. It is a worldwide recognized gold structure that gave birth to several of the largest gold deposits in Canada.

Besides the volcanogenic sulphide mineralization found south of the property, we find in the immediate area gold mineralization associated with either shear zones, or fracture zones (Yvan-Vézina Mine). In a report published by the Quebec Ministry of Natural Resources and Wildlife (RG 96-13), Goutier identifies an area of highly prospective gold zones between the La Pause and Aiguebelle faults. This area is shown on the map below. The property is located in the heart of this prospective area.
view map

LOCAL GEOLOGY

Despite the complete lack of outcrop, Goutier has determined that the Manneville Fault lies in the heart of the property. This imbricated structure of the Malartic-Kinojevis group, between the Aiguebelle and La Pause faults, is similar to a tectonic front associated with E-W overlapping formations having a northern direction.
view map

<read more>
The rocks of the Lanaudière Formation (Aln) occupy much of the property. This formation is characterized by magnesian basalts, ultramafic lava flows intercalated with felsic pyroclastic and rhyolitic. Numerous felsic dykes are found in these volcanic rocks, as evidenced by the exploration holes drilled on the property.

A NE-SW structure has been interpreted near the Aiguebelle-Goldfields Showing.

PAST WORK

Drillings were completed by Typhoon on the Aiguebelle-Goldfields Showing. They confirmed the mineralization as well as its lateral continuity. The gold values ​​intersected in holes AIG-06-01, AIG-06-03 and AIG-07-09 show that the mineralized zone is present between levels 50 and 100 meters below the surface, on an east-west direction, dipping parallel to the lithological units (-60° to 65° degrees south) and having a true thickness ranging from 2 to 10 m on the west side (holes AIG-06-03 and AIG-06-04) and 2 to 8 m in the central zone (hole AIG-06-01). The observed gold mineralization is mainly concentrated in felsic to intermediate intrusions (syenitic appearance) generally massive, aphanitic, slightly altered, containing fine disseminated pyrite veins and veinlets of quartz-carbonate-albite. A second gold mineralized zone was intersected 150 m below surface and approximately 150 m north of the main zone (hole AIG-06-04). This zone shows the same characteristics as the main zone and was intersected by two holes so far with gold values ​​greater than 1.0 g/t Au over 1.5 m.

<read more>

In addition, hole AIG-07-12 confirmed the presence of a broad band of komatiite similar to the one observed in the immediate area of the Fayolle Showing, confirming the potential for future exploration in this area.

Following the large compilation work done by Typhoon Exploration Inc. on all the properties it owns in the Mont-Brun area, a new drilling program was announced in early 2011 (see press release dated February 15, 2011) targeting the south-east portion of the property.

The first results of this campaign were announced in June 2011. Hole AIG-11-01 intersected multiple gold zones all located within an intermediate intrusive facies of monzodioritic affinity. These new gold zones confirm the relevance of Gocad geological model. We must also consider that this hole is located in the high favorability structural corridor.
SEE TABLE IN PRESS RELEASE DATED JUNE 14TH, 2011
view map

As part of the exploration program on the Fayolle Property (adjacent to the Aiguebelle-Goldfields Property), two holes collared in the southwest part of this property were extended into the Aiguebelle-Goldfields Property. One of them, hole FAX-11-36, intersected within the Aiguebelle-Goldfields Property, 3.0 g/t Au over 6.0 meters between 200 and 206 meters and 1.0 g/t Au over 4.0 meters between 209 and 213 meters.
SEE TABLE IN PRESS RELEASE DATED AUGUST 9TH, 2011

Those drilling programs clearly confirm the gold potential of the Vang sector, which is located about 600 meters southwest of the Fayolle Deposit and which appears to extend into the Aiguebelle-Goldfields Property.

In 2015, line cutting trending N-S with 100 meter line spacing, totaling 6.4 km as well as an IP-OreVision survey of 6.4 km have been completed on the Aiguebelle-Goldfields showing as well as on the southeastern portion of the property. These surveys allowed to better characterize known gold-bearing zones and helped define future drilling targets.

In 2016, a first OreVision® test survey was completed on the Aiguebelle-Goldfields property. Five (5) lines, 1 kilometre long, were proposed in the extension of the Fayolle deposit, in an area devoid of any outcrop.

The survey and interpretation gave the indication of two (2) clear anomalies, ready to drill.

The use of OreVision® inaugurates a more systematic exploration approach applicable to other Typhoon properties in the area.

FUTURE WORK

The site has been maintained in good condition in order to plan for future work.

Qualified Person – Information of a scientific or technical nature has been prepared under the supervision of Daniel Gaudreault, ing., (OIQ) and qualified person under NI43-101.

This page was last updated: 03/21/2016

PROJECT DETAILS

Type

Gold property

OWNER(S)

100% Typhoon Exploration Inc.

LOCATION

The property is located approximately 35 km north-east of the town of Rouyn-Noranda in Abitibi.

Claims

6 mining claims in the township of Aiguebelle


OTHER FACTS

  • The property lies immediately west of the Fayolle gold Deposit.
  • The property is easily accessible by road from the village of St-Norbert-de-Mont-Brun.
  • A 2% royalty (NSR) is attached to the property.

AIGUEBELLE-GOLDFIELDS

CONTEXTE GÉOLOGIQUE RÉGIONAL

La région est située à l’intérieur de la sous-province de l’Abitibi. Les roches sont principalement d’âge archéen et peu métamorphosées. Elles ont été divisées en trois groupes d’origine volcanique et deux groupes d’origine sédimentaire.
voir carte

<lire la suite>
Les roches volcaniques du groupe de Kinojévis sont composées principalement de tholéites ferrifères et magnésiennes, de komatiites et d’horizons rhyolitiques. Quant à celles du Blake River, elles sont caractérisées à la base par des andésites intercalées de pyroclastites surmontées de roches beaucoup plus felsiques d’affinité transitionnelle à calco-alcaline. Ces roches sont l’hôte de nombreux gisements de sulfures massifs dans la région de Rouyn-noranda. La Formation d’Hébécourt est quant à elle formée de tholéites ferrifères et magnésiennes s’étendant de la frontière ontarienne jusqu’au secteur des mines Bousquet et Laronde.

Les roches sédimentaires du Kewagama, plus jeunes que les volcaniques, sont composées de turbidites déposées dans des bassins voisinant les édifices volcaniques. Quant aux roches du Témiscaming, elles sont les plus jeunes et sont composées de sédiments grossiers, pllygéniques déposés dans des environnements alluvionnaire et fluviatile.

Plusieurs intrusions recoupent ces roches. Au voisinage des failles, on retrouve une multitude de dykes de composition variée (syénite, tonalite, albitite, lamprophyre). Une de ces intrusions, constitué d’un ensemble ultrapotassique de syénite et de pyroxénite est située au sud de la propriété (syénite de Cléricy).

Les différentes unités volcano-sédimentaires sont séparées par de longues zones de déformation, telles que les failles Porcupine-Destor, Aiguebelle, La Pause, Parfouru, Manneville Sud et Manneville Nord. Ces grandes structures parcourent la région et sont orientées E-O à ESE. Dans le secteur de la propriété, la zone de failles correspond à une zone de collision triangulaire avec plusieurs chevauchements ayant une attitude et une vergence différentes. De nombreux gisements aurifères sont associés à cette structure, particulièrement à l’ouest de la région et du coté ontarien.

Quant à la Faille Cadillac-Larder Lake, elle est située plus au sud. Il s’agit d’une structure aurifère mondialement reconnue qui a donné naissance à plusieurs des plus gros gisements aurifères canadiens.

Outre les minéralisations en sulfures volcaniques volcanogènes retrouvées plus au sud de la propriété, on retrouve dans la région immédiate de la propriété des minéralisations aurifères associées soit à des zones de cisaillement, soit à des zones de fractures (Mine Yvan-Vézina). Dans un rapport géologique publié par le Ministère des Ressources Naturelles et de la Faune du Québec (RG 96-13), Goutier identifie une zone à fort potentiel aurifère entre les zones d’imbrication entre les failles d’Aiguebelle et de La Pause. Cette zone est représentée sur la carte ci-dessous. La propriété est située au cœur de cette zone favorable.
voir carte

GÉOLOGIE DE LA PROPRIÉTÉ

Malgré l’absence totale d’affleurements, Goutier a déterminé que la Faille de Manneville occupe le cœur de la propriété. Cette zone d’imbrication du Kinojevis-Malartic, entre les failles d’Aiguebelle et La Pause, s’apparente à un front tectonique associé à des chevauchements E-O, à vergence nord.
voir carte

<lire la suite>
Ce sont les roches de la formation de Lanaudière (Aln) qui occupent une grande partie de la propriété. Cette formation est caractérisée par des basaltes magnésiens, des coulées de laves ultramafiques dans lesquelles s’intercalent des pyroclastites felsiques et des coulées rhyolitiques. De nombreux dykes felsiques se retrouvent dans ces roches volcaniques, tel que le démontrent les forages d’exploration effectués sur la propriété.

Une structure NE-SO a été interprétée près de l’Indice Aiguebelle-Goldfields.

TRAVAUX EFFECTUÉS

Quelques sondages ont été complétés par Typhon sur l’Indice Aiguebelle-Goldfields. Ils ont confirmé la minéralisation et la continuité latérale de celle-ci. Les valeurs aurifères des sondages AIG-06-01, AIG-06-03 et AIG-07-09 démontrent que la zone minéralisé est bien présente entre les niveaux 50 mètres et 100 mètres sous la surface, orientée est-ouest, à pendage parallèle aux unités lithologiques (-60° à 65° vers le sud) et d’épaisseur réelle variant de 2 à 10 m du côté ouest (sondages AIG-06-03 et AIG-06-04) et 2 à 8 m dans la partie centrale de la zone (sondage AIG-06-01). Les minéralisations aurifères observées se concentrent principalement dans des intrusions felsiques à intermédiaires (d’aspect syénitique) généralement massives, aphanitiques, faiblement altérées, contenant de la fines pyrites disséminées et des veines et veinules de carbonate-quartz-albite. Une seconde zone minéralisée aurifère a été recoupée au niveau 150 m sous la surface et environ 150 m au nord de la zone principale (sondage AIG-06-04). Cette zone montre les mêmes caractéristiques que la zone principale et a été recoupée par deux sondages jusqu’à présent avec des valeurs aurifères supérieures à 1,0 g/t Au sur 1,5 m.

<lire la suite>

De plus, le sondage AIG-07-12 a permis de confirmer la présence d’une large bande de komatiite du même type que celle observée dans le secteur immédiat de l’Indice Fayolle; confirmant le potentiel d’exploration futur dans ce secteur.

Suite aux travaux de compilation effectués par Exploration Typhon Inc. sur l’ensemble des propriétés qu’elle détient dans le secteur de Mont-Brun, un nouveau programme de forages a été effectué en 2011, ciblant le secteur sud-est de la propriété.

Les premiers résultats de ces travaux ont été communiqués en juin 2011. Le sondage AIG-11-01 a recoupé plusieurs zones aurifères toutes situées à l’intérieur d’un faciès intrusif intermédiaire d’affinité monzodioritique. Ces nouvelles zones aurifères confirment la pertinence du modèle géologique Gocad. Il faut aussi considérer que ce sondage est situé dans le corridor structural de haute favorabilité.
voir tableau dans communiqué en date du 14 juin, 2011
voir carte

Dans le cadre du programme d’exploration sur la Propriété Fayolle (adjacente à la Propriété Aiguebelle-Goldfields), deux forages débutés au sud-ouest de cette propriété ont été prolongés jusqu’à l’intérieur de la Propriété Aiguebelle-Goldfields. L’un d’entre-eux, soit le sondage FAX-11-36, a intersecté sur la Propriété Aiguebelle-Goldfields, 3,0 g/t Au sur 6,0 mètres entre 200 et 206 mètres et 1,0 g/t Au sur 4,0 mètres entre 209 et 213 mètres.
voir tableau dans communiqué en date du 9 août, 2011

Ces programmes de forages confirment clairement le potentiel aurifère de la zone Vang, qui est située à environ 600 mètres au sud-ouest du Gîte Fayolle, et qui semble se prolonger sur la Propriété Aiguebelle-Goldfields.

En 2015, de la coupe de lignes N-S, espacée de 100 mètres et totalisant 6,4 km ainsi qu’un levé PP-OreVision de 6,4 km ont été complétés sur l’indice Aiguebelle-Goldfields de même que sur la portion sud-est de la propriété. Ces levés ont permis de mieux caractériser les zones minéralisées aurifères connues et de cibler les futures cibles de forage.

En 2016, un premier levé OreVision® a été complété sur la propriété Aiguebelle-Goldfields. Cinq (5) lignes, d’un kilomètre de long, furent proposées dans l’extension du gîte Fayolle, dans une région dépourvue de tout affleurement.

Le levé et l’interprétation ont clairement indiqué deux (2) anomalies, prêtent à forer.

L’utilisation d’OreVision® inaugure une approche d’exploration plus systématique, applicable à d’autres propriétés de Typhon dans la région.

TRAVAUX À VENIR

Le site a été maintenu en très bonne condition afin de planifier de futurs travaux.

Personne Qualifiée – Les renseignements de nature scientifique ou technique ont été rédigés sous la supervision de Daniel Gaudreault, Ing. Géo. (OIQ) et personne qualifiée en vertu de la Norme Canadienne 43-101.

Cette page a été mise à jour: 21/03/2016

Détails du projet

Type

Propriété aurifère

Détenteur(s)

51% Exploration Typhon Inc.

49% Mines Agnico Eagle Limitée

Emplacement

La propriété est située à environ 35 km au nord-est de la ville de Rouyn-Noranda en Abitibi.

Titres

6 titres miniers dans le canton d’Aiguebelle


Autres faits

  • La propriété est située immédiatement à l'ouest du Gîte aurifère Fayolle.
  • La propriété est facilement accessible par route à partir du village de St-Norbert-de-Mont-Brun.
  • La propriété est grevée d’une redevance de 2% (NSR).